Historic WWE championship reign ends at WrestleMania 40
Posted by  badge Boss on Apr 08
History was made at WrestleMania 40 (Picture: WWE/Craig Melvin)

Sami Zayn has toppled GUNTHER to become the new Intercontinental Champion.

fans were rejoicing at WrestleMania 40 as the Underdog from the Underground ended – the longest in history – in front of a capacity crowd at Lincoln Financial Field in Philadelphia.

After pep talks from Chad Gable and lifelong friend Kevin Owens, the fan favourite overcame the Austrian bruiser in an instant classic to become a four-time IC Champion.

It also marks for Sami, who teamed with KO in the night one main event in Los Angeles last year and beat The Usos to win the Unified WWE Tag Team Titles.

His wife was cheering him on from the front row, and veteran commentator Michael was spot on as he hailed it one of the sweetest WrestleMania victories.

The childhood sweethearts kissed at ringside, with Sami basking in his moment of glory.

Sami Zayn has won the IC Title for a fourth time (Picture: WWE)

This takes nothing away from GUNTHER, who broke Hall of Famer The Honky Tonk Man’s record and held the title for 666 days.

It wasn’t the only title change on night one, as the Judgment Day duo Damian Priest and Finn Balor lost both sets of their tag team titles.

In a chaotic, brutal and at times hilarious Six Pack Ladder Match, Grayson Waller and Austin Theory capture the SmackDown belts, before The Miz and R-Truth had a wholesome WrestleMania moment and became Raw champs.

Rhea Ripley was the only champion to leave with their gold (Picture: WWE)

In fact, was the only champion to retain as she overcame Becky Lynch who performed admirably despite suffering with flu after a high fever earlier in the day.

Elsewhere on night one, Rey Mysterio and Andrade had some help evening the odds to overcome Santos Escobar and Dominik Mysterio, as NFL stars Jason Kelce and Lane Johnson hopped the barrier in Rey masks in the closing moments.

Jey Uso beat twin brother Jimmy in a match which has unfortunately left some fans underwhelmed, while the next match picked up the mood as Bianca Belair, Jade Cargill and Naomi beat Damage CTRL’s Asuka, Kairi Sane and Dakota Kai.