FIFA World Cup 2022 Golden Boot: Top scorers in Qatar
Posted by  badge Boss on Nov 21, 2022 - 09:01PM
The race is on for the Golden Boot (Picture: Hector Vivas – FIFA/FIFA via Getty Images)

The Golden Boot is awarded to the player who scores the most goals at the .

If two players end the tournament with the same number of goals, then the first tiebreaker is the number of assists, followed by the minutes per goal ratio if needed.

Penalties in normal and extra-time count, however goals scored in a penalty shootout do not.

Here are the highest goal scorers at the FIFA World Cup 2022 in .

Most goals at Qatar 2022

Previous Golden Boot winners

FIFA first gave out an award to the top goalscorer at the World Cup in 1982, when it was branded as the Golden Shoe.

Since 2010, the award has been referred to as the Golden Boot, with silver and bronze boots handed out to the players with the second and third most goals respectively.

World Cup 2022: your FAQs answered

Read the latest World Cup news on .

won the Golden Boot in 2018 with his six goals guiding England to the semi-finals.

The record for the most goals scored in a single World Cup is held by French striker Just Fontaine, who managed an incredible 13 goals during the 1958 tournament in Sweden.

Previous Golden Boot winners at the FIFA World Cup

  • 2018: Harry Kane (6)
  • 2014: James Rodriguez (6)
  • 2010: Thomas Muller (5)
  • 2006: Miroslav Klose (5)
  • 2002: Ronaldo (8)
  • 1998: Davor Suker (6)
  • 1994: Oleg Salenko, Hristo Stoichkov (6)
  • 1990: Salvatore Schillaci (6)
  • 1986: Gary Lineker (6)
  • 1982: Paolo Rossi (6)

Follow Metro across our social channels, on Facebook, and

Share your views in the comments below