Bafta offers explanation after viewers complain about Robbie Coltrane’s absence from memoriam TV package
Posted by  badge Boss on May 15
Robbie Coltrane died last October (Picture: Carl Court/AFP via Getty Images)

Viewers of the 2023 TV Bafta Awards were left unimpressed when was absent from their memoriam package.

Bafta’s In Memory Of… segment honours actors we’ve lost over the past year, as well as creatives who worked behind the scenes.

This year, former judge , comedian , and Dame Edna Everage star Barry Humphries got a mention.

Doctor Who actor Bernard Cribbins, Hi-De-Hi! actress Ruth Madoc, and Emmerdale star Dale Meeks were also named by the ceremony.

The segment showed images of the late stars while Ed Sheeran’s Eyes Closed played in the background.

However, viewers took to Twitter to express their disappointment when Hagrid actor Coltrane failed to appear.

Paul O’Grady was among stars honoured in Bafta’s memoriam package (Picture: BBC)
Jerry Springer’s shock death came earlier this year (Picture: BBC)

Coltrane with his cause of death later 

Taking to social media during this year’s ceremony, one Twitter user wrote to Bafta: ‘what about Robbie Coltrane in your obituaries? Great actor which seems forgotten about tonight’.

Another tweeted: ‘no recognition for Robbie Coltrane, he died in October and is one of Britain’s most successful actors’.

‘Well done @bafta on forgetting Robbie Coltrane in the remembrance section of the TV BAFTAs….’, penned another.

However, Bafta offered an explanation.

Len Goodman was remembered with a clip of his Strictly catchphrase (Picture: BBC)
Barry Humphries died after complications from hip surgery (Picture: BBC)

When contacted by, a spokesperson said that Coltrane was remembered at the Film Awards earlier this year.

As stated on the In Memory Of… package was established in 2006 to ‘acknowledge the committed and passionate individuals who worked in the film, games and TV industries who have passed away.’

‘Owing to the number of industry-related obituaries each year, we are unable to provide a definitive list of every person with industry credits who has passed away,’ they add.

Bafta members are invited to submit names for obituaries by email.

Kate Winslet won big at this year’s TV Baftas for I Am Ruth (Picture: Joe Maher/Getty Images)
Ben Whishaw took home leading actor (Picture: Dave J Hogan/Getty Images)

Elsewhere in tonight’s show, actors for their performances in I Am Ruth and This Is Going To Hurt, respectively.

Derry Girls and The Traitors also took home two gongs each.

Meanwhile, and Ant and Dec’s Saturday Night Takeaway for entertainment programme, and Platinum Jubilee – Party at the Palace: Paddington meets the Queen was voted by the public as the winner of the P&O Cruises’ most memorable moment.

Catch up with the TV Bafta Awards 2023 on BBC iPlayer.

TV Bafta Awards 2023 winners

Female performance in a comedy programme – Siobhan McSweeney – Derry Girls

Reality and constructed factual – The Traitors

Short form programme – How To Be A Person

Specialist factual – Russia 1985-1999: Traumazone;

Daytime – The Repair Shop: A Royal Visit

Sports coverage – Uefa Women’s Euro 2022

Male performance in a comedy programme – Lenny Rush – Am I Being Unreasonable?

Entertainment Programme – The Masked Singer

Supporting actress – Anne-Marie Duff – Bad Sisters

Current affairs – Children of the Taliban

News coverage – Channel 4 News: Live In Kyiv

Single drama – I Am Ruth

Mini-series – Mood

International – Dahmer-Monster: The Jeffrey Dahmer Story.

Features – Joe Lycett vs Beckham: Got Tour Back At Xmas

Drama series – Bad Sisters

Factual series – Libby, Are You Home Yet?

Single documentary – The Real Mo Farah

Comedy entertainment programme – Friday Night Live

Soap and continuing drama – Casualty

Live event – Platinum Jubilee- Party at the Palace

Entertainment performance – Claudia Winkleman – The Traitors

Special awards – David Olusoga

P&O Cruises Memorable moment – Platinum Jubilee – Party at the Palace Paddington meets the Queen

Supporting actor – Adeel Akhtar – Sherwood

Leading actor – Ben Whishaw – This Is Going To Hurt

Leading actress – Kate Winslet – I Am Ruth

Scripted comedy – Derry Girls

Special award – David Olusoga

Fellowship – Meera Syal